Different from a shared hosting account in which the information is backed up by the provider, if you use a virtual or a dedicated server you'll need to keep manual backups as this type of a service is not provided by default. As great as a hosting server may be, there's always a chance that something might go wrong. For instance, you may delete some content by accident or a script-driven application could get damaged after an update. If you have a backup, you will not need to bother about this type of issues as the content could be easily restored. Since it may not be quite handy to do this regularly on your end, we supply an optional backup service for all of our web server plans and we will store a copy of your content on an independent server to be certain that it is intact no matter what. With the upgrade, you'll be able to work on your web server without having to worry that you could lose any data due to any reason.